Kimsoleskiward's Blog

songsthatteach.com weblog

Songs about Canada December 30, 2009

Matilda the moose

Moose in Algonquin Park, June 2009

cover image
Sing a Song of Canada by Kim Soleski Ward

As I have stated in earlier posts, I am an elementary music teacher.  Over the past 20 years of teaching, I have written many songs for children.  I believe that music is an amazing teaching tool, and, most of my songs are related to non-musical curriculum areas.  Sing a Song of Canada is one of my songbooks that is available for sale through Leslie Music Supply.  http://www.lesliemusicsupply.com  In this songbook, there are 22 original compositions that teach about the history and geography of Canada.  For example, “First Among Equals” teaches the names of all 22 Prime Ministers.  “Can Can Canada” teaches the provinces and territories and their capital cities.  There are songs about Canadian icons such as the moose, the ookpik, the beaver, butter tarts, and, the Aurora Borealis.  Also included are 5 traditional Canadian folk songs and also the national anthem.

I was born and raised in Canada and I love to share the wonders of Canada with my students.  The songs are a fun way to introduce the country and also teach the students musical skills while they learn about Canada.   An Ookpik is a little stuffed creature that was created as a way of promoting trade to Canada.  A butter tart is a uniquely Canadian dessert.  Kind of like a miniature pecan pie but not really.  My song about the moose is called “My Dewlap.”  The dewlap is the flap of skin that hangs down from the moose’s chin.  If you have never seen a moose in the wild, I highly recommend driving Highway 60 in Ontario through Algonquin Park.  I have seen a moose along that highway absolutely everytime I have driven there.  And, don’t just drive through, Algonquin Park has beautiful hiking trails with amazing scenery.   I was born in Bracebridge, Ontario which is a little town very close to Algonquin Park. 

The book contains both musical and non-musical activities for the students to do.  There are writing responses, drawing responses, crossword puzzles, mazes, etc.  So, if you are a music teacher, a classroom teacher, a parent or, someone interested in Canada, please check out my book, “Sing a Song of Canada.”

 

One Response to “Songs about Canada”

  1. Danica Says:

    A teacher at Noah’s school loves the book. She was wondering if you could come to the school but it is a long way to come from east coast USA to west coast Canada. I love the book also.


Leave a Reply

